Company Regd. No. 759/060
NATTA : 189/03
Pulchowk, Lalitpur, Nepal
Tel: 977-1-5554394

About Nepal

Nepal At Glance

Official Name: Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal

Area: 147181 sq km

Geography: Nepal is a landlocked country located between China, in the North and India in East, West and South. Highest point Mt. Everest (8,848) and lowest Kechana (60m above sea level)

Capital: Kathmandu is the capital city of Nepal. Kathmandu is a valley surrounded by four hills- Fulchowki, Chandragiri, Shivapuri and Nagarjun. Kathmandu valley has three major cities Kathmandu, Bhaktapur and Patan. Situated at the altitude of 4,500 feet above sea level, Kathmandu is home to seven UNESCO World Heritage sites. Before the unification of Nepal in the 18th century, the three cities were independent stages ruled by the Mall Kings.

Population: 23.1 million (according to the census of 2001)

Language: Nepali is the national language. However, people speak Newari, Bhojpuri, and Maithili among others as their mother tongue. People in the urban areas understand English quite well.

Climate: Nepal has four seasons, namely, (1) Winter (Dec-Feb), (2) Spring (Mar-May), (3) Summer (June-Aug), (4) Autumn (Sept-Nov). Nepal can be visited around the year.

Political System: Multi-Party system of Democracy.

People/Religion: Nepal has more than 105 ethnic groups with diverse culture, traditions and lifestyle. Nepali people can be divided into two distinct groups: Indo-Burman and Mongoloid. Nepal is a secular state with majority of people following Hinduism. However, people practicing Buddhism, Christianity and Islam among others live in a good harmony.

Administrative Division: Though Nepal is a federal republic, federal states are yet to be carved. Nepal is divided into five development regions, 14 zones and 75 districts.

Geographical Division: Geographically, Nepal is divided into Hills, Mountain and Tarai regions.